Darts: Malta Premier League 2016/2017 announced

Tuesday, January 10, 2017, 21:34

We are only days away from the start of the first ever Malta Premier League of Darts with the eight qualified players all eyeing the prestigious title of being crowned Malta Singles Champion. The players will battle it out firstly in a round robin group stage with each player facing each other once with the top four qualifying for finals nights with the winner being decided in a straight knock-out semi-final and final. The top four placed players will also represent Malta in the 2017 Mediterranean Cup, this year hosted by France in the month of May.

The qualified players are: Albert Scerri “Grizzly”, 46 – Mosta Horseshoe Bar; Brian Abela “The Joker”, 46 – Mosta Horseshoe Bar; David Attard “The Jockey”, 37 – Floriana Ajax; Godfrey Abela “Taz”, 51 – Mosta Horseshoe Bar; John Agius “Pakku”, 29 – Floriana Ajax; John Ciantar “The Scorpion”, 55 – Floriana Ajax; Norbert AttardThe Knight”, 36 – Floriana Ajax; Vincent Busutill “Hassu”, 60 – Floriana Ajax.

The competition will commence on Wednesday 11th January 2017 and end on Wednesday 26th April 2017.


The full schedule is as follows:

Gameweek 1: 11/01/2017 @ Lija Boċċi Club;

Gameweek 2: 18/01/2017 @ 120Bar, Mellieħa;

Gameweek 3: 08/02/2017 @ Uncle Matt`s Kitchen, Marsaskala;

Gameweek 4: 15/02/2017 @ Sun City Bar, Buġibba;

Gameweek 5: 08/03/2017 @ The Malta University Common Room;

Gameweek 6: 29/03/2017 @ Red Bar, Kalkara;

Gameweek 7: 05/04/2017 @ La Roviescata, San Ġwann;

Finals Night: 26/04/2016 @ Red Square, St. Venera.


First match on each night is scheduled for 20:00 hrs and all events have free entry. Also live streaming for these events will be available on the association`s YouTube channel. More information can be found on the Facebook page “Malta Darts Association”. On behalf of the Malta Darts Association we would like to thank our sponsors which include Budweiser as the official partner and wish all the participating players the best of luck. Let’s play darts!


Promo for the event:


Photo album of the competitors:



Leave a comment