Cricket: Marsa CC begin season with victories over Cudham Wyse and Peshwa

Friday, March 31, 2017, 11:59

Gavin Muscat

On Saturday, Marsa faced Cudham Wyse Cricket Club and Peshwa CC from the Kent Village League in England. The home side won the toss and batted first. The national team pair of Sam Aquilina (62) and Nowell Khosla (85) put on a 135 run opening partnership to swing the game in Marsa’s favour. Al Ameen (33) and Feroz Ahmed (23) contributed handy runs before Marsa were finally dismissed in the 45th over for an imposing total of 272. For the visitors, Thomas, Rabbani, Borrett and Vaughan snared 2 wickets apiece. In reply Cudham Wyse lost wickets at regular intervals and were dismissed for 157 runs. Chris Vaughan top scored with 26 runs. For Marsa, junior Waleed Ahmed and Joy Ghoseroy took 2 wickets each in Marsa’s 115 run victory.

Sunday’s T20 against Peshwa CC was an exciting encounter with the match decided in the very last over. Peshwa reached the respectable score of 142, largely thanks to Sawant and Pujary who shared an 80 run opening partnership. Haroon Mughal and Stephen Lucas restricted the visitors in the middle overs, while junior Ethan Xuereb started the season well with 2 wickets for 22. For Marsa, keeper Mark Sacco was involved in a record 5 run outs for the home side.

Marsa’s reply started steadily but Nowell Khosla (21) and Bikram Arora (25) were dismissed in quick succession. Hard-hitting Niraj Khanna struck a powerful 28 before crowd favourite Sid Anand finished off the game with an enterprising 29 runs off 26 balls, when the game was well and truly in the balance. The bowling honours for Peshwa CC went to Sawant who took 3 for 18 off his 4 overs.


Score Summaries:

Sat 18 March – 45 overs:

Marsa CC 272 (Khosla 85, Aquilina 62); Vaughan 2-17) defeated Cudham Wyse 157 (Vaughan 26; Ghoseroy 2-3). Player of the Match: Nowell Khosla (Marsa)


Sun 19 March – 20 overs:

Marsa CC 145 for 7 (Anand 29*; Sawant 3-18) defeated Peshwa CC 142 (Sawant 49; Xuereb 2-22). Player of the Match: Muvnal Sawant (Peshwa).

Umpires: Les White, Joy Ghoseroy and Subhas Roy.

Scorers: Eric Balakrishnan & Paula Calleja



Photography Credits: Dominic and Christine Borg

Cudham Wyse CC


Peshwa CC


Sam Aquilina and Nowell Khosla for Marsa CC

Leave a comment