Clayton Fallia wins Footballer of the year award

Wednesday, July 4, 2012, 23:15

Clayton Failla was named MFA Footballer of the Year for season 2011/12.This is the second time Failla was voted Footballer of the Year after 2008/09.

The eagerly-awaited announcement of the winner of the most coveted individual honour in Maltese football was made by Norman Darmanin Demajo, the President of the Malta FA, during an awards ceremony at the Grand Hotel Excelsior, Valletta.

Fallia, 26, fended off competition from Hibernians team-mate Andrew Cohen and Valletta trio William Barbosa, Jonathan Caruana and Denni Rocha Dos Santos.

The five finalists for the MFA award emerged after a poll of club officials and Board members held last month at the association’s headquarters at Ta’ Qali. For clarity’s sake10  journalist are usually usually invited to vote in this selection but a mishap emerged thus resulting in no journalists turnning up to vote on the day.

Although all nominees had a good season, especially Valletta all rounder William Barbosa, the contest was widely viewed as a two-way duel between Fallia and Caruana.

Failla will be marry later this week so he was not pasrt of the Hibs contingent who travelled to Bosnia yesterday morning as Hibs will be competing in the UEL.

Their outstanding performances were a determining factor in Hibernians’s Trophy success as Fallia and Cohen not only tormented their opponents with their fine individual play but also came up with some crucial goals in decisive matches.

2011- R.Briffa (Valletta)

2010- S.Bajada (B’Kara)

2009 – C. Failla (Hibernians)
2008 – K. Sammut (Marsaxlokk)
2007 – G. Agius (Valletta)
2006 – A. Cohen (Hibs)
2005 – A. Cohen (Hibs)
2004 – S. Giglio (Sliema)
2003 – N. Turner (Sliema)
2002 – A. Mifsud (Hibs)
2001 – G. Agius (Valletta)
2000 – E. Barry (Sliema)

The winners of the various awards were:

Best Players

BOV First Division Darren Falzon (Naxxar).
BOV Second Division Simon Shead (Gzira).
BOV Third Division Matthew Spiteri (Fgura).
Youth League Johann Bezzina (Hibs).
BOV Women’s League Rachel Cuschieri (Birkirkara).
Futsal Noel Bray (Naxxar Motors).

Top Scorers

Premier League Obinna Obiefule (Marsaxlokk/Mosta) 34 goals.
First Division Darren Falzon (Naxxar) and Marcelo Pereira (Vittoriosa) 14 goals.
Second Division Simon Shead (Gzira) 20 goals.
Third Division Ricardo Severino Goncalves (Fgura) 25 goals.
Women’s First Division Ylenia Carabott (Hibs) 22 goals.
Women’s Second Division Brenda Borg (Mgarr) 33 goals.
Futsal First Division Alexander Ribic (Excess RP Bidnija) 40 goals.
Futsal Second Division Claude Camilleri (City Boys) 38 goals.
Futsal Third Division Shawn Vella (Ta’ Zwejt Boys) 16 goals.
Futsal Fourth Division Wayne Muscat (Balzan Youths) 45 goals.

Fair Play Awards

Premier League 1. Qormi, 2. Valletta, 3. Hibernians.
First Division 1. Rabat Ajax, 2. Pietà Hotspurs, 3. St. Patrick.
Second Division 1. Gzira United, 2. Zebbug Rangers, 3. Luqa St. Andrew’s.
Third Division 1. Xghajra Tornados, 2. Pembroke Athleta, 3. Marsa.
Youth League 1. Balzan Youths, 2. St. Andrews, 3. Marsa.
Women’s League 1. Tarxien Rainbows, 2. Naxxar Lions, 3. Mgarr United.
Overall Winners 1. Gzira United, 2. Rabat Ajax, 3. Pietà Hotspurs.


1 Comment

  1. Korrezzjoni zghira fuq Clayton Failla 2009 – Dan l-unur kien rebhu ma Hibernians FC mhux ma Sliema W. Dak l-istagun konnha ghadna kemm hadna lig u ftit wara kien inghaqad ma Sliema W. Biss l-unur li rebah 2009 huwa tal-iStagun li kien ma’ Hibernians FC.

    Grazzi hafna


Leave a comment