Chairman’s team once again emerge winners

Thursday, May 19, 2011, 7:20

Ronnie Sacco

On Saturday the Chairman’s v the Captain’s teams continued. The Chairman’s team batted first. Malcolm Crabbe and Joy Ghoseroy opened the batting, Ghoseroy was soon departing with some good bowling from Robert Krishna who then struck again in his first over. Crabbe was out in the fourth over scoring eleven runs and the Chairman’s team was in trouble having lost three wickets for a mere twenty five runs.

At the crease were now Ronnie Sacco and Andy Naudi who put on a match winning partnership of seventy four runs. Sacco made forty nine runs including two sixes and four fours. Naudi was soon to follow and had scored twenty three runs. Justin Brooke was the only other batsmen who made more than ten runs he made thirteen. The Chairman’s team were bowled out for 133 runs. Apart from Krishna, Sarfraz Ali also took wickets , while Derek Ali and Nowell Khosla both took a wicket each. Interesting to note that there were four run outs, two involved the wicket keeper John Grima and one was brilliantly done by Robert Krishna with a direct hit.

In reply the Captain’s team had a slightly better start only losing their first wicket of Khosla (thirteen runs) when the score was twenty six runs. Javed Shah was in and out soon after with five runs to his name. Derek Ali joined Grima at the crease and they steadied the innings. Grima retired when he made it to thirty runs and then total mayhem happened for his team. Daniel Gatt went in and was stumped of his first ball, Mike Grima made six runs before being caught and three other batsmen made ducks. Derek Ali remained unbeaten on thirty four runs while Gordon Hewitt was on one run not out when the innings closed.

The Captain’s team only made ninety nine runs. Mike Caruana and Ronnie Sacco both took two wickets each while Justin Brooke took one for the Chairman’s team. With the win the Chairman’s team go 2 to 1 up in the series.

On Saturday morning the second game between the Marsa Colts and the Krishna Colts took place. The Marsa team batted first and totalled eighty two runs from their overs. The top scorers were Adam Caruana (twenty eight runs), Oliver Robinson (fifteen runs) and Sarah Bulteel (fourteen runs). The Krishna team could only muster up sixty five runs. Top scorers were Zack Borg Ginger (fifteen runs) and Adam Krishna (fourteen runs).

The Malta National Cricket team will be participating in the European second division Championships which will be held in Belgium in June. The selected squad is as follows; Samuel Aquilina, Justin Brooke, Mike Caruana, Malcolm Crabbe, Joy Ghoseroy, Darren Grech, John Grima, Nowell Khosla, Kevin Krishna, Andy Lenard, Andy Naudi, Mark G. Sacco, Ronnie Sacco and Tony Slater.

Leave a comment