Champions Abela and Sullivan set for ECC 2011, Finland

Sunday, July 10, 2011, 12:00

Sue Abela and Neil Sullivan both completed successful campaigns to retain their 2010 titles, in this year’s edition of the Tenovar MTBA National Championships, just concluded at the Eden SuperBowl. The champions will go on to represent Malta in the 2011 European Champions Cup (ECC), to be held in Lahti, Finland this August.

2011 National Champions Sue Abela and Neil Sullivan with their trophies at the Eden SuperBowl.

Men’s defending Champion Neil Sullivan was in the lead after two 8-game sessions, going into the final eight, which would be played on the tricky ‘dual-oil’ lane condition, just ahead of day one leader Mark Spiteri and Simon Burke in second and third respectively.

Sullivan played with fair consistency over the series, shooting highs of 225, 248 and 247 for a solid 1652 set, and a winning total of 4860 pins (202.5 ave), keeping Spiteri at bay, the latter hanging on to second place on 4729. Kenneth Arpa claimed third after a good 1670 session (total 4728), while Simon Burke suffered a poor 1439 series, to fall way out of contention and finish ninth.

Only an absolute disaster could have prevented Sue Abela from claiming a convincing victory in the ladies’ competition, and notching up her fifteenth title of National Champion, having led by 476 pins over Tiziana Carannante after sixteen games (3186 – 2710). Abela did have a shaky start on day three, opening with a low 149 game, but soon improved to power through the remaining seven with top games of 234, 258 and a fantastic 276 effort, to complete a 1672 series for a final tally of 4858 (202.4), 712 ahead of Carannante in second place (4146, 172.7 ave) while third place went to Melissa Swift on 4105 (171 ave).

The Tenovar MTBA National Champions are currently following a strict training regime, with lane time provided by the Eden SuperBowl, prior to their trip to the ECC in Finland later this Summer.

Leave a comment