Chairman’s XI win yet again

Thursday, May 12, 2011, 9:45

On Saturday the second game took place between the Chairman’s XI and the Captain’s XI.

The Chairman’s side batted first with Malcolm Crabbe and Joy Ghoseroy opening the batting in the twenty over game. Ghoseroy was not there for long and was out on the first ball of the second over. Ronnie Sacco came in and in the following over was also walking back to the pavilion being caught by John Rusher. In came Andy Lenard and with Crabbe steadied the ship and put on a sixty one run partnership. Lenard was bowled. He made thirty runs from thirty three balls faced including two fours.

Crabbe’s long innings fell shortly after that of Lenard’s . Crabbe made thirty two runs from forty balls. The batting tempo picked up with Darren Grech hitting twenty one runs from twenty two balls with Justin Brooke hitting nineteen runs from fifteen balls. Sam Aquilina managed four runs of two balls. For the Captain’s side Dave Borg was the main wicket taker with two while Mike Caruana and Derek Ali took a wicket each. The Chairman’s team totalled 115 runs.

The Captain’s team reply was just plain miserable and were all out for 63 runs which included fifteen extras. Bikram Arora was the only batsmen who made it past double figures. He made nineteen runs. For the second week running he was caught by Justin Brooke and believe it or not another classic catch having Brooke running backwards and flinging his whole body back to take an incredible catch. For the Chairman’s team , Andy Lenard, Ronnie Sacco, Kevin Krishna and Joy Ghoseroy all took two wickets each while Darren Grech took one. With this win the series is levelled at one a piece.

In the morning a game between the Marsa Colts and the Krishna Colts was played. The Krishna team batted first and totalled sixty runs from their ten overs with Edward Heasman top scoring with eighteen runs and Daniel Galea making fourteen runs. Adam Caruana was the only wicket taker for the Marsa team. In reply the Marsa team were able to make the runs through Andrea Caruan (seventeen runs), Freddie May (sixteen runs) and Catherine Heasman (thirteen runs) as the main run scorers. Kathleen Bulteel was the only wicket taker for the Krishna team.

Next Saturday the same proceedings are scheduled.

Leave a comment