Brian Galea Wins The All Malta – President’s Cup

Thursday, August 25, 2016, 12:56

Gavin Muscat

Brian Galea claimed the prestigious All Malta – President’s Cup at the Bidnija Shooting Ranges this weekend.

This Event was organised on five qualification rounds of 25 targets each, three rounds on Saturday and two rounds on Sunday, where the top six shooters overall, made it to the semi-final stages and eventually the Medal Matches.

Brian Galea placed 1st overall with 116/125 in the qualification rounds. He managed a perfect straight of 15/15 in the semi-final and 14/15+2 in the Gold Medal Match as he defeated James Galea Jr. who on the other hand had topped the qualifications result with the score of 117/125. Galea managed 13/15 in the semis and 14/15+1 in the Gold Medal Match.

Matthew Busuttil won the Bronze Medal Match when he beat Jason John Aquilina 12/15 to 9/15. Busuttil had qualified with the score of 113/125 and 11/15 in the semi-final, while Aquilina’s semi-final score was 10/15 and his qualification score was 111/125, the same as George Grech’s and Stephen Vella’s.

A three-way shoot-off between Jason John Aquilina, George Grech and Stephen Vella to secure a place in semi-final saw both Grech and Vella missing their sixth target as Aquilina did not miss.

The other two shooters, who did not make it through to the Medal Matches, after shooting in the semi-final, were Paul Formosa who scored 9/15 and George Mifsud who managed 8/15. Formosa’s qualifying score was 116/125, while Mifsud’s was 114/125.

In this weekend’s event, five participants obtained the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) Minimum Qualification Score (MQS) of 112/125.

Five perfect straight rounds of 25/25 were recorded this weekend. Brian Galea, James Galea Jr., George Mifsud and Paul Formosa had their perfect rounds on Saturday, while Mario Buhagiar had his faultless round on Sunday.

Nine near perfect rounds of 24/25 by nine different participants were also registered, two on Saturday and seven on Sunday.

The top three shooters in their respective classes concluded their five qualification rounds with;

Class A

1st James Galea Jr. 117/125

2nd Paul Formosa 116/125

3rd Brian Galea 116/125

Class B

1st Matthew Busuttil 113/125

2nd George Grech 111/125

3rd Jason John Aquilina 111/125

Class C

1st Stephen Casha 104/125

2nd Jason Agius 95/125

3rd Joe Zammit 94/125

The MSSF Shotgun Trap Programme will continue on Sunday, 28 August at the Qormi Clay Shooting Club with the Franz Ciantar Trophy.

Leave a comment