BOV Waterpolo Championship fixtures drawn

Tuesday, May 24, 2011, 11:40

Valletta return to Waterpolo

The BOV Water-polo Championship 2011 will see the return of Valletta to competitive water-polo in Malta and will see nine teams competing for the coveted BOV Water-polo Championship.

A new feature in the 2011 Championship is that the nine teams will be split into two seeded groups instead of a single league. Teams will now get 3 points for a win, and one point for a draw. At the end of the Preliminary Round, there will be play-offs between clubs in corresponding positions in each group. The top 5 teams will qualify for Div I while the other 4 clubs will play in the Div II league. The Div I League will be determined by means of a series of play-offs. The championship will culminate in a best-of-five series between the 2 finalists.

The fixtures for the 2011 BOV Water-polo Championship were drawn by Peter Perotti, Chief Officer at Bank of Valletta and Joe Caruana Curran, President of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta during a press conference held at the Bank’s Head Office in Santa Venera.

“Bank of Valletta and the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta have collaborated extensively to create greater competitivity in the national water-polo competitions” said Mr Perotti. “Unlike previous seasons, the Championship Finals will be the last games of the season, with knockout competitions played earlier, and the five game series will definitely keep the fans on edge to see which team will be crowned champions this year”

“The first game of this year’s championship will be played on the 7th June and the first month of competition will give the national team players an excellent competitive warm up to Malta’s commitments against Turkey on the 28th of June and against Poland on the 1st of July” said ASA President Joe Caruana Curran. “We are very happy to welcome Valletta back in into the championship although unfortunately Marsaxlokk will not be competing this year.”

The following are the fixtures for the BOV Water-polo Championship 2011 as drawn:

Group A Group B
Seed 1 Neptunes Sliema
Seed 2 Exiles San Giljan
Seed 3 Sirens Marsascala
Seed 4 Ta’ Xbiex Otters
Seed 5 Valletta
Date Matches
Group A Group B
7th June S1 – S4 S2 – S5
8th June S2 – S4 S3 – S1
10th June S4 – S5 S1 – S4
12th June S5 – S1 S2 – S3
15th June S3 – S1 S2 – S3
17th June S4 – S2 S5- S3
18th June S4 – S3 S1 – S2
19th June S3 – S4 S1 – S2


  1. Clinton Farrgia says:

    Can you please publish the fixtures of the youth competitions?



    joen Reply:

    yes pls i would like to see them


  2. Joe says:

    alla jbierek Caruana Curran president u Valletta United jergaw jidhlu jippartecipaw fil-Waterpolo…

    Probabilment ha narawk l-glied l-pixxina din is-sena l-ahwa…..


    Supporter Reply:

    aaaa veru vojt joe. 


Leave a comment