Bonello Ghio wins Argo national championships

Wednesday, February 1, 2012, 17:45

by Wilfred Sultana

The year 2011 has been an interesting and colourful one where sailing is considered with both local clubs’ regattas and even a number of international events enthusiastically embellishing the home calendar.

One major appointment held in December has been the National Sailing Championships organized by the Malta Sailing Federation.  Presently eight clubs and association make up the MSF where with regards the organization of the Nationals the tradition is that each year a member club is assigned to host this annual event.  Normally the NSC is held in-mid November but due to persistent inclement weather last year the two-day event had to be transferred to the first weekend in December.

The 2011 Nationals, which were sponsored by the Argo Insurance Group, were hosted by the Vikings Sailing Club and raced along the Sliema Seafront.

Competitors were divided into four classes, namely the Optimist Open, the Optimist Cadet, the Novice Class and the Laser 4.7 Class. In the Laser Standard there were only 2 sailors, so this did not constitute a class.

The final results of each class were:

Optimist Open Class: 1st Thomas Bonello Ghio (MYSC); 2nd Zachary Zammit (MYSC); 3rd Craig Farrugia Vella (BSC).

Optimist Cadet Class: 1st Craig F.Vella (BSC); 2nd Matthew Micallef (BSC); 3rd Matthew Bugeja (BSC).

Novice Class: 1st Kane Seychell (MYSC); 2nd Nick Bonello Ghio (MYSC); 3rd Gary Mercieca (BSC).

Laser 4.7 Class: 1st Ella Fleri Soler (MYSC); 2nd Abigail Fenech (MYSC): 3rd Thomas Sammut Alessi (MYSC).

Further to the winners of the different Classes Ella Fleri Soler won the Joe Borg Costanzi Trophy and Thomas Bonello Ghio was declared the National Champion of the Argo National Championships.  Mr. Clive Chipperfield attended the presentation of trophies on behalf of the Argo Insurance Group.

Leave a comment