Bonello gains time trial national championship – Formosa fastest at Mizieb

Saturday, June 19, 2010, 21:44

The Time Trial championship came to an end last week with the final hill climb at Mizieb. The gruelling hill was used for the first time this year and it proved to be a tough challenge which made the race for the overall time trial champion undecided till the very last rider up the hill. Fastest on the day was Christian Formosa of Melita Pedal Power in 2:24, he was followed by team mate Maurice Formosa in 2:29 and Etienne Bonello of Team Greens in 2:30. Bonello who dominated the first two time trial rounds in Mriehel and Bahar ic-caghaq was crowned time trial national champion while Maurice Formosa moved to second overall and Steve Sciberras of Mosta AF Sign Studio in third spot.

Podium Finisher of the other categories


Marie Claire Aquilina (Team Greens) – 3:17
Marica Micallef (Melita) – 3:54
Megumi Natori (Greens) – 4:21


James Dimech (Mosta) – 2:43
Berhard Azzopardi (Greens) – 2:58
Matthew Abdilla (Greens) – 2:59

Masters 40 +

Michael Lia (Mosta) – 3:05
Joe Mallia (Qormi Scott) – 3:23
Chris Iwanik (B’Kara SJ) – 3:47

Masters 50+

Lino Fabri ( Greens) – 3:04
Twanny Pisani (Mosta) – 3:16
Emanuel Bezzina ( Mosta) – 3:27

Master 60+

George Abela (Qormi) – 4:19
George Gauci (Mosta) – 4:51

U15 Girls

Michaela Galea (Qormi) – 4:16
Nina Zammit (Mosta) – 4:22
Adriana Galea (Qormi) – 5:08

U15 Boys

Nicholas Zammit (Mosta) – 3:31
Karl Xuereb (Mosta) – 3:32
Terrance Lauri (Greens) – 3:41

1 Comment

  1. Oswald says:

    WELL DONE ALL CYCLISTS and well done Cycling Federation. Congrats to Etienne and to Marie Claire.


Leave a comment