Bonello fastest at Mriehel

Thursday, April 29, 2010, 15:04

The first round of the Time Trial National Championship was held last Sunday at the Mriehel bypass.

Fastest on the day was Team Greens Etienne Bonello who covered the 24.5 km distance in 36:20. He was followed by Mosta AF Sign Studio Steve Sciberras in 37:55 and Jack Schiavone of Qormi Scott in third place with 38:10. The strong North Westerly winds and the intermittent showers that characterised the early morning race increased the difficulty of what was already a hard race. Considered the race of truth riders were set off at one minute intervals to cover the distance in the least time possible.

Etienne Bonello during the time trial - Photo by Ramon Borg

The race was very close as the top cyclists clocked similar times in the initial laps however Bonello pulled out an emphatic effort in the last kilometres to grab the win with a margin of 1minute 35seconds.

Marie Claire Aquilina kept her winning momentum in the Ladies’ race followed by Team Greens team mate Danica Bonello Spiteri with Marica Micallef of Melita Pedal Power in Third

James Dimech (Mosta) was the fastest junior followed by Berhard Azzopardi(Greens) and Daniel Borg(Mosta) Mark Bugeja (Greens) won the masters category with Michael Lia (Mosta) and Joe Mallia(Qormi) in 2nd and third place. The 50+ race was taken by Team Greens Lino Fabri followed by Emanuel Bezzina of Mosta and Pierre Chirchop of Greens. George Abela (Qormi) & Geoge Gauci (Mosta) topped the 60+ race. A commendable number of under 15 girls and boys rode a reduced race in one of there initial time trial experiences.

The race was organised by the Malta Cycling Federation assisted by the Malta Police force, club officials and other volunteers. The race also celebrated the 76th birthday of two cycling pioneers namely the Ex- President and Honourable president of the Malta Cycling Federation Mr Josie Lanfranco and Mr Paul Attard president of Qormi Cycling Club who are still very active cyclists. Next race will be the second round of the Road Race championship at ta penellu on 23 May 2010

Leave a comment