Bonello edges Formosa in sprint finish to win St. Paul’s Bypass Race

Saturday, March 12, 2011, 13:13
Elite Category Podium - Photo by Ramon Borg

Elite Category Podium - Photo by Ramon Borg

More than 80 cyclists lined up for the start last Sunday at the grueling and undulating St. Paul’s Bypass road race organized by Melita Cycling Club. The strong winds didn’t help the cyclists in this tough circuit making it one of the toughest and anticipated races on the island.

The most contested category as always was the Elite category in view of the upcoming Small Nations Games to be held in Liechtenstein in May, with more than 30 starters, cyclists had to cover the route for 15 times for a total distance of 87 kms.

Patrick Scicluna from Melita Pedal Power Cycling Club attacked the peleton almost from the start. He was joined by Jason Vella from Greens Cycling Club, Jack Schiavone of Qormi Cycling Club and Duncan Galea of Mosta AF Sign Studio Cycling Club. However Schiavone and Galea couldn’t match Scicluna’s and Vella’s pace and dropped out from the breakaway instantly. The two man breakaway continued to increase their pace to create a comfortable gap on the chasing group.

Back in the main group, several counter attacks shattered the group and various riders lost contact. A chasing group of 5 riders made up of Maurice Formosa (Melita) Clive Ebejer (Melita) Mark Bonnici (Melita) David Galea (Qormi) and Etienne Bonello (Greens) was eventually created who started bridging the gap on the 2 front runners. Eventually Scicluna’s and Vella’s effort was neutralized in the 11th lap and they where reeled in by the chasing group. Scicluna suffered from his earlier effort and was dropped from this group, although Vella managed to hang on.

A sprint had to decide the outcome for this race with Etienne Bonello edging Maurice Formosa and David Galea in 2 hrs 33 mins 20secs.
In the ladies category, Marica Micallef from Melita Pedal Power Cycling Club had a comfortable victory on her rivals, winning the race in 1hr 56mins (52 kms) followed by Rachel Pullicino of Mosta in 2hrs 4 mins 25 sec and Claudia Zammit of Mosta in 2hrs 8mins 10secs.

Melita Pedal Power Cycling Club would like to thank Ruben Buhagiar and Nicholas Valenzia for the delicate task of time keeping. Thanks also go to all marshals and other helpers and supporters for helping to make this event a successful one.

For full results please log on

1 Comment

  1. Weldone to the organisers from Melita Cycling Club and to the Malta Cycling Federation


Leave a comment