Bjorn Vassallo appointed CEO at MFA

Friday, August 20, 2010, 0:44

by Sandro Micallef

Bjorn Vassallo to occupy new role as CEO at MFA

Bjorn Vassallo to occupy new role as CEO at MFA

Norman Darmanin Demajo’s right hand man, Bjorn Vassallo, has been officially appointed as the Chief Executive Officer of the Malta Football Association. The idea to introduce the role of a CEO within the MFA’s structures was one of Darmanin Demajo’s main priorities in a bid to structure the Malta FA administration department in a more professional and business minded way. The news that Vassallo has been appointed as CEO has been communicated in Thursday’s MFA Council meeting which was chaired for the first time by the new President.

The new team at the helm of the MFA has presented to the Council a revamped organizational structure for approval. Amongst new appointments one notices with satisfaction the return to the MFA Headquarters of Joe Cassar as a full timer which automatically means that he will give in his resignation from CEO of the Kunsill Malti għall-iSport. Mr. Cassar will be the MFA’s Deputy General Secretary for International affairs and Events.

Other appointments include the new role of Deputy General Secretary for Competitions which has been handed to Rodney Pisani whilst Maria Tanti will have the title of Deputy General Secretary Grass Roots, Youth Development and Education. Louis Micallef will retain his duties as Deputy General Secretary Administration.

Malta Futsal Coach Vic Hermans has been offered the post of Head Technical Centre, whilst former Head of Communications Mark Muscat will be responsible for the Technical Centre’s and National Teams PR. Helping out in the weekly if not daily PR duties we fund Mark Attard who has been handed PR duties for all domestic competitions. Interesting to note the return to the MFA of former Grounds Manager Gorg Micallef known as il-Bobby who will now be employed as an Accounts Clerk.

Pauline Basile Pace who was Dr. Mifsud’s Personal Assistant for the past years has been retained by Darmanin Demajo, she will also assist the new CEO.

The council which for this term is formed by no less than 14 newcomers has approved Dr. Joe Mifsud and Dr. Giuseppe Mifsud Bonnici as Honorary Presidents of the MFA.


  1. Johann Vella says:

    F’isem il-Kumitat ta’ St.Venera Lightnings FC nawguralek xoghol siewi lejn il-clubs fil-kariga gdida tieghek.


  2. Karl Calamatta says:

    Awguri Bjorn


  3. Dumpy says:

    awguri bjorn. meta se tintervjeni fuq l-issue tat-tim nazzjonali ?


  4. miczer says:

    ghal xejn bkejt kollox bizzilla ( min jibki jerda jejd il malti)


  5. Anthony Arpa says:

    Prosit lil President ta MFA Is Sur Norman Darmanin Demajo li anki jekk l-istess Dr Joe Mifsud ftit xhur ilu bil casting vote tieghu cahhad lis Sur Darmanin Demajo milli jirritorna f’MFA ,dan il gentlom president xorta accetta bil qalb kollha lil Dr Mifsud bhall president onorarju ta MFA….Anthony


  6. vfc says:

    Awguri Bjorn……jixraqlek!


  7. julio says:

    Porsit siehbi.Nawguralek xoghol iebes kif thobb taghmel inti.Issa li nafek sewwa naf li ix-xoghol taghmlu kif suppost.Il-president ghandu bzonn aktar nies bhalek ghalkemm difficli issib.Int bniedem li kont minn ta quddiem sabiex is-sur Darmanin Demajo jilhaq president u zgur li dan kollu wasal ghax-xoghol habbrieki tieghek .Nispera li li jkollok aktar rebhiet bhal dawn dejjem jekk izzomm mohok miftuh.Prosit siehbi tal-kariga gdida tieghek li naf zgur li se tkun success.


  8. Karl Galea says:

    Allerwieh!! A breath of fresh air

    good luck to all for your work in the MFA


Leave a comment