Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club – Event 2014‏

Saturday, August 16, 2014, 23:09

The eighteen events organised annually by Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club throughout the summer months are now past their halfway stage and the respective general classifications give clear indications as to who will be carrying the 2014 honours. The Birkirkara Club organises a 5-kilometre road running series, a cycling Individual time trial series, a triathlon series and an open water swimming championship. Over 500 athletes have taken part in these events, which are all organised under the auspices of their respective national federation.


Clive Gerada of St. Patrick’s A.C. has won the first two race from The Festina The Cyclist 5K Road Running Series, held on the Mtarfa by-pass. He leads the table with 32 minutes, 45 seconds, followed by Brian Magri of Pembroke Athleta with an accumulated time of 33 minutes, 4 seconds. John Said is in third place, two seconds slower. In the females’ category, past winner Carmen Hili (St. Patrick’s A.C.) is leading the general classification with a time of 38 minutes, 16 seconds. In race two she was beaten by second placed Francesca Arrigo (Ladies Running Club), who has now accumulated a time of 38 minutes, 24 seconds. Angele Sammut (St. Patrick’s A.C.) another past winner of the series, is in third place with a time of 38 minutes, 28 seconds. The third and final race will be held on Tuesday, 19 August.


Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club has the top two standings after the second race of the inaugural Garmin BBB Individual Time Trial Series, held on the Haz-Zebbug by-pass. The Saints’ Wayne Spiteri is the man to beat in this discipline. He has maximum points after the two races, and barring any mechanical problems, he has the series in his clasps. His team-mate Steve Sciberras is in second place with 195 points, while Agones S.C. cyclist Mark Bonnici occupies third place. Malta champion Marie Claire Aquilina of the Greens C.C. is the run-away leader in the females’ competition, with two victories out of the two races. She is followed by Birkirkara St. Joseph’s Michelle Vella Wood with 198 points, and Margaret Seguna (Mellieha A.C.) with 195 points. The final race in this 20K individual time trial series will be held on Sunday, 7th September.


With just one race out of six, remaining from the Vileda Open Water Swimming Championships, both Neil Agius and Sarah Demicoli should find no difficulties in clinching their respective titles. The former, with an accumulated time of 2 hours, 16 minutes, 49 seconds, has more than 10 minutes to spare on his nearest rival Gilbert Bartolo. However the race for second place is a tight affair. Bartolo’s gap is 14 seconds on third placed Graham Borg (2:27:39), and 15 seconds on fourth placed Roberto Demicoli. Young Sarah Demicoli has a 23-second lead on Hannah Pace (2:28:02).

Although this lead is quite healthy, former champion Pace is still very much in the chase, considering her experience in this discipline. Margaret Seguna’s third place should be under no threat with a time of two hours, 35 minutes, 28 seconds. The open water swimming championship titles will be decided on Tuesday, 13th August at Tax-Xama in St. Paul’s Bay.

At the half way stage of the Festina The Cyclist Triathlon Series, national team triathletes Keith Galea of Birkirkara St. Joseph and Danica Bonello Spiteri of St. Patrick’s A.C., have both secured a very good lead at the top of their respective classifications. For the first time in years, Birkirkara St. Joseph had to move their triathlon venue away from the Coast Road, and this year this series is being held at Birzebbuga. Both triathletes have won the first two races. Galea is leading with a time of two hours, six minutes, 56 seconds, ahead of team-mate Graham Borg (2:10:40) and Fabio Spiteri (2:10:55). Bonello Spiteri registered a time of two hours, 20 minutes, 52 seconds over the two races. Second place is still very much undecided as Athleta Pembroke’s Hannah Pace leads Birkirkara St. Joseph’s Michelle Vella Wood by one minute, with a time of two hours, 24 minutes, 4 seconds. The third race of this triathlon series will be held on Sunday, 21st September.KEITH GALEA, DANICA BONELLO SPITERI LEAD THE TRIATHLON SERIES

Leave a comment