Bernard Sammut triumphs in the Enduro

Thursday, March 12, 2020, 7:40

Last Sunday ASMK organized the fourth event from the WotoMoto National Enduro 2019/2020 Championship held at the Quarry in Fawwara with 15 competitors divided into four classes, starting with novices to expert classes.

Enduro competitors were challenging a 3 kilometers long circuit which was slightly longer than usual. During the qualifying Bernard Sammut on a Beta and James Zahra on a Sherco dominated the two top placings in the general classification. During the following two heats Sammut increased the gap on Zahra. Sammut ended winning the event within 9 minutes 0.78 seconds while Zahra registered a time of 9 minutes 32.73 seconds. Garry Debono Garry came third on a Sherco with a registered time of 10 minutes 0.35 seconds.

In Class B Rowen Bonello on a Beta dominated this class with timed runs of 11 minutes and 24.33 seconds followed by Kyle Stone on a KTM motorcycle with a total time of 11 minutes 29.21 seconds. Third came Josef Von Brockdorff on a Beta with an 11 minutes and 35.38 seconds race.

Class C was won by Mario Gatt on a Honda motorcycle within 13 minutes and 51.84 seconds while Class D was won by Antonie Muscat on a KTM motorcycle with a total time of 11 minutes and 59.14 seconds.

Another Enduro event is expected to take place on Sunday 26th April 2020. This special event will be held at San Lawrenz in Gozo. This Enduro race starts at 10:00am.

Next Sunday will resume the National League Honda Motocross 2019/2020, with the race starting at 10:00am at the ASMK Sports Complex in Ta’ Qali. It will be the fourth event of the season.

Kyle Camilleri on his KTM is currently on top of the list of the National Motocross Championship with 147 points, followed by Bernard Sammut on a Beta with 133 points and Ryan Faenza on a Yamaha motorcycle with 99 points.

In Class B, Jorn Stellini from Gozo and riding on a KTM motorcycle KTM has won 150 points so far, while Michael Sant on Husqvarna is runner-up with 110 points. Third placed Mark Attard rides a  Yamaha with 88 points.

In the National Veterans Ranking League Paul Deguara is leading on his KTM and won 147 points to date. Deguara is followed by William Sant wth 135 points on his Honda motorcycle and third placed Andrew Cassar with 80 points riding a KTM.

More information can also be found on or Facebook pages A.S.M.K. or Assoċjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can make contact by email on

Photos by Mario Micallef

Leave a comment