Balzan FC focused on arrival in Croatia

Monday, August 6, 2012, 14:24

by Sandro Micallef

Malta Futsal Champions Balzan FC formerly known as Excess RP Bidnija have just landed in Croatia in transit to Trebinje in Bosnia & Herzegovina where later on this week they shall be participating in the preliminary round of the UEFA Futsal Cup 2012/13. The team which left Malta in the early hours of Monday was drawn to play against the Bosnia Herzegovina and Moldova Futsal Champions.

The Balzan FC Futsal delegation at the MIA on Monday early morning

The Malta team was drawn in Group A formed by only three teams namely Balzan FC, KMF Leotar Trebinje from Bosnia and CSC Lexmax Stauceni of Moldova.

The team  is being led by Club President Mr. Mario Vella and Mr. Nataniel Jones acting as Team Manager. Accompanying the delegation are also Mark Borg representing the newly formed FMA – Futsal Malta Association and Joe Agius General Secretary of the parent Club Balzan FC.

The spirit within the members of the squad is positive as the players are set for a light training session in Dubrovnik at around 7.30pm. On Tuesday morning the squad will be transferred to Trebinje where the first training session of the actual playing pitch will be held.

The preliminary round in all Europe has to be played from the 7th till the 12th of August August, with 27 sides – including all 14 debutants – split into seven groups, the winners of which will all progress.

In the main round, played between 4 and 9 September, the top two in each of the groups will go through to the elite round. Also involved are the only team to enter all 12 editions of the UEFA Futsal Cup, Iberia Star Tbilisi, who will meet hosts FC Litija, Athina ’90 and the winners of preliminary round Group D.

Given a bye to the elite round are the four top seeds: Barcelona, their Spanish rivals Murcia FS, 2010 champions SL Benfica and regular semi-finalists Kairat Almaty. The draw will be held on 13 September and the four group winners from 9 to 14 October will compete in the finals in late April, with the hosts drawn from among their number.

Balzan FC Futsal will have in their ranks Florin Anton again as player coach, Florin Manea, Alexander Ribic, Glenn Bonello, Carlos Scicluna and newly recruits Reuben Grech (goalkeeper), Emelka Onuta Basil, Nicola Del Re, Matthew Cocks and Zjelko Anicic the latter to join the squad on Tueaday.

See also:


Preliminary round (7-12 August) *Hosts Group A: KMF Leotar Trebinje (BIH)*, CSC Lexmax Stauceni (MDA), Balzan Youths FC (MLT)

The other groups:

Group B: Helvécia Futsal London (ENG), LSM Lida (BLR), København Futsal (DEN)*, Vlora Futsal (ALB)

Group C: EID Futsal (IRL), Minerva Futsal Bern (SUI), 1. FC Allstars Wiener Neustadt (AUT)*, TÜFAD Ankara (TUR)

Group D: FT Antwerpen (BEL), Sporting Club de Paris (FRA)*, Hamburg Panthers (GER), FC Santos Perth (SCO)

Group E: Maccabi Nahalat Yitzhak Tel-Aviv (ISR)*, Vegakameratene (NOR), FC Shahumyan Yerevan (ARM), FC Encamp (AND)*

Group F: FS Ilves Tampere (FIN), FC Grand Pro Varna (BUL)*, FC Ibra Göteborg (SWE), Cardiff City FC (WAL)

Group G: KMF Zelezarec Skopje (MKD)*, KF Jedinstvo Bijelo Polje (MNE), Bekentas Vilnius (LTU), FC Anzhi Tallinn (EST)

Main round (4-9 September) Group 1: Luparense C/5 (ITA), Slov-Matic Bratislava (SVK), AC Omonia Nicosia (CYP)*, winner preliminary round Group F

Group 2: KMF Ekonomac Kragyjevac (SRB), Nikars Riga (LVA)*, winner preliminary round Group E, winner preliminary round Group G

Group 3: FK EP Chrudim (CZE)*, City’US Târgu Mures (ROU), SK Energia Lviv (UKR), winner preliminary round Group A

Group 4: Iberia Star Tbilisi (GEO), Athina ’90 (GRE), FC Litija (SVN)*, winner preliminary round Group D

Group 5: MFK Dinamo Moskva (RUS), Akademia FC Pniewy (POL), MNK Split (CRO)*, winner preliminary round Group B

Group 6: Araz Naxçivan (AZE), CF Eindhoven (NED), ETO FC Győr (HUN)*, winner preliminary round Group C

Bye to elite round (9-14 October) FC Barcelona (ESP, holders), SL Benfica (POR), Murcia FS (ESP), Kairat Almaty (KAZ)

Leave a comment