At the races: President’s Cup Final will not be raced on Republic Day

Friday, November 14, 2014, 1:48

This year it was decided that the President’s Cup Final will not be raced on Republic Day as in the recent past years but has been moved to next Sunday. This change was done for several reasons but primarily it was suggested in order to give a chance to all Premier Category horses to participate as when it was raced on 13th December the French horses used to be taking part in the Prix de Vincennes and thus could not take part in this important race for local horse racing. Another reason was that on Republic Day the President of Malta has appointments all over Malta and Gozo and so had very limited time to spend at the Track.


This is the 14th edition of the President’s Cup and the first one under the Patronage of H.E. Dr Marie Louise Coleiro Preca who is going to be present during the programme being organised for this occassion as well as present the trophies to the winners.

It has been decided that the distance for this Final will be 2140m so that the two top races in the local racing calendar will have different distances as the Tazza l-Kbira is always raced over the longer distance of 2640m.


As in the past three years it will be the owners themselves or their representatives that will choose the number with which their horse will depart behind the autostart. The sequence of choosing is decided according to placings and timings in the semi finals.


Once again the Malta Racing Club Council has prepared a varied programme with the children attending the Horse Racing Academy taking the major role. This year we shall once again have The Mini President’s Cup in which the students will race small ponies and the winning trophy will also be presented by The President of Malta.


H.E. is expected to arrive at the Track at 15:00 hours and she will be escorted to the winner’s circle by the Mounted Police. Upon her arrival young singer Milena Bianco will sing the National Anthem and after this the children of the horse racing academy will escort the finalist drivers on pony drawn jogcarts where in the winner’s circle they will be greeted by more students and will be given a token of the occassion by The President of Malta.


The 12 horses will parade in front of the public wearing red blankets given to them by the Malta Racing Club and when the winner is announced Milena Bianco will sing a song befitting the occasion.

The total prize money is 3600 euro with the winner receiving 2025 euro, a commemorative blanket and the right to keep for a year The President Cup trophy designed by George Muscat. The first four placed horses will also receive a trophy.


As always this race is also organised in order to raise funds for l-Istrina administered by The Community Chest Fund which this year bears the slogan Solidarjeta’ bl-Isports.


Next Sunday volunteers will be present at the track in order to collect donations from the spectators but we would also like to encourage all winning owners to be their usual generous selves and donate part of their prize money to l-Istrina.


This year 12 horses will be at the start of the race amongst them last year’s winner Gently di Poggio, VOB Grand Final winner Pat de Fontaine, Prix de Vincennes winner Ohime Mag and the winner of the Assikura Gold Championship Phenix de la Roque.


These are the participating horses and their probable drivers:


1. Vejby Boom (Charles Camilleri)

2. Mad Image (Rodney Gatt)

3. Pat de Fontaine (Noel Baldacchino)

4. Pedro Vici (Johann Axisa)

5. Original Blue (Chris Cassar)

6. Phenix de la Roque (Frencu Cassar)

7. Ohime Mag (Ronald Cassar)

8. Oran (Carmelo Farrugia)

9. Gently di Poggio (Brian Hili)

10. Poulot des Cinty (Clint Vassallo)

11. Mint Kronos (Julian Farrugia)

12. Made In Hoff (Thomas Bonde)


List of previous President Cup Winners:


Sajf 1992 Zito Bob (Tony Tanti)

1992/1993 Sanit (Charles Clifton)

1993/1994 Alto Be (Frencu Cassar)

1994/1995 Major Bill (John Briffa)

1995/1996 Huggie Hanover (Raymond Clifton)

1996/1997 Huggie Hanover (Raymond Clifton)

1997/1998 Captain Trackline (Joseph Scicluna)

1998/1999 Bambin d’Orleans (Philip Giordmaina)

2004 Huit Mars (Michael Seychell)

2010 Lucas Ness (Mario Farrugia)

2011 Livi Cantona (Charles Camilleri)

2012 Mont Cenis Honey (Noel Baldacchino)

2013 Gently di Poggio (Brian Zammit)

Leave a comment