ASMK Champions Awards on Saturday and motocross track in progress

Tuesday, February 20, 2018, 18:11

On Saturday 24 February the Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi will be organizing the Annual event to honour the ASMK Champions of 2016/2017. On this occasion ASMK will also be distributing several other honours won by competitors during this last year.

Thanks to President of Malta this event will be again held in Verdala Palace on Saturday 24th February 2018. Invited to attend are the Parliamentary Secretary for Youth, Sport and Voluntary Organizations Dr. Clifton Grima, the Opposition Spokesperson for Sport Hon. Ryan Callus, the Chairman of Sport Malta Dr. Luciano Busuttil, Sport Malta CEO Dr Chris Bonnet, President MOC Mr Julian Pace Bonello and several sponsors and Honorary Members of the Society.

Meanwhile the Association held a press conference 20th February 2018 at GasanZammit Motors Ltd. Showroom where the Company announced to sponsor another project for restructuring of the Motocross track at Ta Qali. The company will be sponsoring ASMK through Honda for the 2018 National Motocross Championship season.

During this conference the speakers were ASMK President Mr. Frans Deguara who talked in general about the achievements of the Association and its present importance towards motorcycling competitors in championships abroad. Mr John Cassar President for Motocross explaining in detail about the current project sponsored by Honda brand. Mr. Manfred Galea Brand Manager of Gazan Zammit Motors Company Ltd said that he along with his team are happy to continue to assist Maltese Motorsport. He explained that the Company’s relationship with this Association started last year when his company made use of the ASMK track for the Official Launching of the Isuzu Dmax brand of vehicles. Mr Galea also said that GasanZammit company wanted to continue to offer its assistance to ASMK in the field of Motorcycle sports. Thus the Honda brand is being offered this aid in this regard. Mr Galea also thanked the Association for the professional way of operations and presented the Sponsorship document to the President of the Association Mr Deguara.

Thanks to the Honda brand sponsorship works at Ta Qali Motocross Track started on Monday 19th February.  The works are being carried out once again by expert Motocross Tracks builder Angelo Cinquemani from Italy where Motocross competitions are very strong. The works mainly consists of re-construction of the track and ramps surfaces which wear out due to continued use. Mr Cinquemani will be building other technical changes which help the riders to improve their riding techniques and skills thus they are kept up to date and be fit for competitions outside our country too. This work is also made possible through several sponsors of construction machinery and including ‘Philip Agius & Sons Ltd’ and ‘Central Asphalt Ltd’. Such works are also carried out under the leadership of the Association Projects Manager Mr. Lawrence Darmanin.

Meanwhile on Sunday 18th February 2018 ASMK organized the Third race of the WotoMoto National Enduro Championship 2017/2018. This event was organized in the Quarry at Fawwara limits of Siggiewi. Thanks to Barbro Ltd the land owners for their cooperation towards ASMK to hold these events.

During this event the competitors raced on the 2.5km long track while riding over natural obstacles. The results of this event show that Bernard Sammut riding on a Beta won both the Enduro Class A and the Over All winner by covering the track with his best time of 4 minutes 21.398 seconds . He was followed by James Zahra on a Sherco with a best time of 4 minutes 27.190 seconds. Third place finisher is Joseph Scilcuna on KTM with 4 minutes 29.363 seconds. All timings are recorded by the MyLaps Timing equipment.

The Class B Enduro winner is Krist Falzon on his Husqvarna. He won this class with his best time of 5 minutes 22.306 seconds while in second place winner is Aidan Camilleri riding a KTM with a best time of 5 minutes 27.886 seconds. Third place was won by David Micallef also on a KTM with his best time of 5 minutes 35.610 seconds.

The Enduro Class C for novices is Nicovich Chircop on a KTM and he won this class with his best time of 6 minutes 58.429 seconds followed by Kurt Muscat on a Yamaha with a best time of 7 minutes 3.589 seconds.

The next ASMK activity is that of the Trials bikes at Fawwara quarry. This competition will be the fourth event of the 2017/2018 championship of the Trials bikers. The event starts at 12: 00 pm.

Further information one can find it on the website of the Association or Facebook page named Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can also make contact by email:- or Mobile 9942 5489.

Photos by Mario Micallef

Leave a comment