ASM – 25 Years of Motorsport

Tuesday, April 20, 2010, 14:10

ASM celebrated its twenty fifth birthday on 14th April. This is a long period of time which makes ASM the local pioneer of Off-road Circuit Motorsport for both cars and motorcycles.

On Sunday 11th April ASM organized the 10th round of the ASM Ashika-Poiatti 2009/2010 National Championships for the Autocross and Bangers racers at Ta’ Qali.

The Autocross races were run in the opposite direction to normal racing.

In the Autocross class, Karm Mifsud raced on his veteran Hillman Imp winning all the 3 race heats of the day thus securing his place on the Start Line of the Class A 9 Laps Final Race. For 6 laps Mifsud was closely followed by Michael Pace on a Fiesta and Christian Galea on a Fiat Ritmo and Patrick Cassar on Opel No.2. A small mistake by Pace on Mifsud resulted in Christian Galea taking advantage of the situation when he took the lead to the remainder of the race. Soon after Mifsud lost control of his car and he was overtook by Malcolm Borg (Opel 35) and Brian Azzopardi (Escort 39) to the chequered flag. Christian Galea won the Class A race and was closely followed by Pace and Cassar.

The Class B was dominated by a new car model which proved its worth with the rest of the field. Vince Farrugia on a new VW Polo 1400cc made a very good start and gained the lead in a very short time. Some distance behind Farrugia, the battle was between Ryan Scerri on a Fiesta No.88 and Mario Scicluna on Opel No.7. Farrugia drove his fast Polo extremely well and he comfortable took the Finish Flag with a marginal gap from his followers.

The Banger racers also had their share of 3 Heats each of 10 Laps. In the 3 heats, though Tony Spiteri and Clayton Bugeja were very close to each other but could not stop Dennis Vassallo from winning the highest race points again. Dennis gained another 57 points against Spiteri’s 54 and Bugeja’s 45 points. Dennis is currently leading the Bangers championship while the race for 2nd place is still open between Spiteri and Bugeja with 2 more races to go to the end of the championship. Next races will be held on the 25th April, including Autocross, Motocross and Banger races. Winner of the last Mini Car Demolition Leo Butler finished first from 33 competitors, runner – up was Raffalo Bonello.

The ASM Executive Council will be organising a Dinner-Presentation of Tokens on the 8th May to celebrate its 25thAnniversary as Founder of Off-road Circuit Motorsport activities. ASM will announce an Honourary President and other Hon. Members.

A group of ASM members visited the ‘Dar tal-Providenza’ in Siggiewi last Saturday 17th April to perform special operations on site. This included transporting special machinery to perform the odd jobs needed by the Providenza house in favour of its residents.

The ASM 2009/2010 Championships will be concluded on 16th May. The day’s program is to include the final events for the Autocross and Banger Cars and the Motocross championships too. An ‘End of Season’ Car Demolition will commence at about 4.30pm

A Special Night Event is scheduled for Saturday 17th July when surprise races will be held. More information can be obtained from the ASM Secretary on 99425489, or in the website named ‘Autocross in Malta’.

Leave a comment