Andrew Griffiths Overall Winner in Dramatic Finale

Monday, April 11, 2011, 17:45

Briton-born Maltese cyclist Andrew Griffiths (Greens CC) is the overall winner of the 17th edition of the Betfair Tour ta’ Malta 2011. Griffiths started Sunday’s fourth and final stage – a 12 km individual time trial on the Zebbug By-Pass – trailing the overall leader, Briton Matthew Higgins (Virgin Active UK) by 31 seconds. He therefore needed to beat Higgins by at least 32 seconds to overturn the result. And that is exactly what he did!

Griffiths and Higgins were the last two cyclists off the starting line for the time trial. Both set off at a very dazzling pace, but in the end it was Griffiths who registered the fastest time, covering the 12 kilometers in 16 minutes 24 seconds, exactly 32 seconds faster than Higgins who recorded 16 minutes 56 seconds. Griffiths compiled an aggregate time of 4 hours 52 minutes and 55 seconds, while Higgins completed the four stages in 4 hours 52 minutes and 56 seconds. A very incredible finish, no doubt!

Briton Roy Chamberlain (Virgin Active UK), who won the Tour in 2005, finished the time trial in third place, clocking 17 minutes and 28 seconds.

Anna Harkowska (CSM Team) had the last laugh by dominating the time trial in the Ladies category. She clocked 19 minutes 23 seconds to relegate Michela Gorini (Fausto Coppi Team) into second place, the Italian recording a time of 19 minutes 36 seconds. Last year’s winner, Iona Sewell (Squadra Donne UK), finished in third place in a time of 19 minutes 51 seconds. Harkowska was obviously declared overall winner of the Tour in the female category.

Jack Schiavone (Qormi Scott CC) once again proved his prowess in time trials by earning a podium place in the Masters category. Schiavone clocked 18 minutes 40 seconds to finish third in a race once again dominated by the Italian rider Salvatore Casi (ASD Omina Ragusa) who clocked 17 minutes 23 seconds. Briton Kevin Byers (Fiestein Team UK) was second in 18 minutes 17 seconds.

Leave a comment