Aguis,Vella Wood open water swimming champions 2013

Sunday, August 11, 2013, 11:57

The open water swimming championships came to an end on Wednesday, with both Neil Agius and Michelle Vella Wood claiming the title in their respective categories.

The final race was the four-kilometre swim held at Salina with a record number of 102 participants. The six races of these championships where organised by Birkirkara St.Joseph Sports Club under the auspices of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta and sponsored by Vileda.

Agius swam the four one-kilometre loops in a time of 51 minutes, 11 seconds to beat his nearest rivals Mats Westergren (52:25) and Nico van Duijn (52:26). Agius was unbeaten throughout the whole championship races, accumulating an overall time of 2 hours, 37 minutes. Roberto Demicoli finished second in 2 hours, 54 minutes, 4 seconds, while Keith Galea finished third in 2 hours, 54 minutes, 32 seconds. Dylan Cachia (3:11:47) won the Under 14 category, Zac Cutajar (3:03:55) was first in the Under 17’s, Graham Borg (2:54:34) won the Masters A category, Joseph Zerafa Boffa (3:22:09) won the Masters B category, and Twanny Fenech finished first in the Masters C category.

In the females’ race, Michelle Vella Wood clocked 1 hour, 3 minutes, 4 seconds, to win the race and the championship. Marian Belsten (1:07:41) was second, and Margaret Seguna finished third in 1 hour, 9 minutes, 20 seconds. Vella Wood claimed the championship in an overall time of 3 hours, 14 minutes, 49 seconds. Belsten finished second in 3 hours, 18 minutes, 27 seconds, and Seguna finished third in 3 hours, 21 minutes, 53 seconds. Sarah Bonnici (3:38:20) was first in the Under 17 category, Bettina Spencer (3:57:35) won the Masters A category, Donatelle Camilleri (3:31:56) won the Masters B, and Debbie Caruana Dingli (3:59:07) was first in the Masters C category.

A prize fund of €1,000 goes to the top three males and females. One hundred and ninety seven swimmers took part in these championships, restricting the organisers to start the races in two separate waves. The final open water swimming event of the year will be the annual Malta-Gozo-Malta and the Gozo-Malta Open Water Swimming Competitions  organised by the Club on the 17th August.

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club would like to thank the sponsors, the Ports and Yachting Directorate of Transport Malta, and the Naxxar Local Council for their assistance throughout the championships.

Leave a comment