Agius and Pace consolidate top placings

Saturday, July 6, 2013, 9:39

Neil Agius and Hannah Pace continued to dominate their respective categories in the Open Water Swimming Championships 2013 organised by Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club and sponsored by Vileda. Both swimmers covered the 2-kilometre course unchallenged to open a wide margin in the overall classification.

Another 100 swimmers took part in the third race of these championships held at Salina Bay. Due to this large number of participants, the start was staggered in two waves by the organisers, with the top forty swimmers included in the first wave. Neil Agius finished in 26 minutes, 23 seconds, ahead of national triathlon champion Keith Galea (28:48) and Graham Borg (28:49). Hannah Pace was also unchallenged in the females’ race. She cruised comfortably to victory in 29 minutes, 3 seconds. Second placed was veteran Marian Belsten (32:27), while Margaret Seguna was third in 32 minutes, 32 seconds.

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club would like to thank the sponsor, the Ports and Yachting Directorate of Transport Malta, and the Naxxar Local Council for their assistance in the organisation of this event. These open water swimming championships are being organised under the auspices of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta, with a prize money fund of €1,000.

Leave a comment