A successful night with the MFPA Awards 2018

Tuesday, April 24, 2018, 13:29

The MFPA Awards held on 23 April 2018, came at the heel of an exciting and highly competitive football season  which saw teams fighting to prevail at both top and bottom tiers of the table, and across all divisions. In many ways, the voting results for the awards, mirrored this thrilling season. With over 300 votes disseminated, verified counted  and recounted (trice) , many honours went down to the wire with a number of winners edging past the runner up with just 1 or 2 votes.

The ceremony itself, took place at the Xara Lodge and  was attended by Hon Clifton Grima, Hon Ryan Callus, Players, Ex Players, Sports Administrators and members of the press . It managed to celebrate football, present and past, whilst emphasising the need to work harder and aim higher.

In his speech MFPA General Secretary – Carlo Mamo, outlined the issues of greatest concern, whilst  highlighting the fact that MFPA will never be an armchair critic, but actively seeks to be part of the solution. In view of this, he said, the Association has been and will continue to work on a number of projects to improve the level of football and the working conditions of its members.

A distinct guest on the night was Mr Roy Vermeer , winner of the MFPA Merit Award for his invaluable contribution towards player conditions in Malta. Mr Vermeer worked at FIFA and UEFA for a number of years and is currently Legal Director at FIFPro.

The Special Award was given to the Dream Team of Malta’s first generation of National Football Players. Legend’s of Football’s Past such as John Holland, Joe Cini, Louis Arpa and Willie Vassallo reminded football fans of Malta’s long love affair with football.

The Award for Best Young Player overall went to midfielder Jake Grech, Birkirkara’s brightest star, whilst the winner of the MFPA Best Player of the year went to Andrew Cohen.

The show will be broadcasted on TVM (4 May 2018 @ 20.30), ONE TV (5 May 2018 @ 20.40) and NET TV (8 May 2018 @20.45).

The following is the complete list of winners:

Best Futsal Player: Maicon Silva

Best Female Player: Stephania Farrugia

Best First Division Player: Paul Chimezie

Best Referee: Alan Mario Sant

Best Coach: Paul Zammit

Best Young Goalkeeper: Jake Galea

Best Young Defender: Jean Borg

Best Young Midfielder: Jake Grech

Best Young Forward: Kyrian Nwoko

Best XI Goalkeeper: Henry Bonello

Best XI Right Back: Enmy Pena Beltre

Best XI Left Back: Joseph Zerafa

Best XI Central Defenders: Steve Borg & Enrico Pepe

Best XI Midfielders: Paul Fenech, Andrew Cohen & Mislav Andjelkovic

Best XI Forwards: Amadou Samb, Alex da Paixao Alves & Bojan Kaljevic

Special Award: Alfred Mizzi, Anton Camilleri, Edward Darmanin, Edwin Farrugia, John Holland, Louis Arpa, Eddie Theobald +, Willie Vassallo, Joe Cini, Ronnie Cocks +, Raymond Xuereb

Merit Award: Roy Vermeer

MFPA Best Young Player: Jake Grech

MFPA Best Player: Andrew Cohen

Leave a comment