8th Annual MTBA Masters, this weekend at the SuperBowl

Thursday, February 26, 2015, 17:30

This weekend, the Malta Tenpin Bowling Association will be holding the 8th MTBA Masters Tournament at the Eden SuperBowl, where the crème de la crème of the local tenpin bowling scene will be competing for the prestigious title of Masters Champion for 2015.


The Qualification stage will take place on Saturday afternoon, played over six games and with only one mixed division, with all female bowlers being given an extra 8-pin handicap per game. The top four qualifiers will then proceed to Step 1 on Sunday morning, where they will be joined by the 5th to 8th seeded bowlers as categorized by the MTBA’s ranking tables for 2014, for another six games.


The top four from Step 1 will carry on to the Quarter Finals on Tuesday evening, which is where the 1st to 4th seeded bowlers will join the tournament, and the eight competitors will play a four game series. The top six bowlers from the quarter finals will be re-seeded, and split into two groups of three for the Semi Final stage.


The Semi Finals will be a knock-out over two games, with the low bowler from each group being eliminated after each game. The two surviving bowlers will then compete in the Masters Final, played over a single game to decide the 2015 Masters title.


The SuperBowl will be open to the public at all times during the 8th MTBA Masters, and there is no entry fee for those who wish to enjoy the action as a spectator.


MTBA Seeded players – 2014 Ranking:


1. Justin Caruana Scicluna

2. Mauro Anastasi

3. Mark Spiteri

4. Kenneth Arpa

5. Rankin Camilleri

6. Neil Sullivan

7. Dennis Merceica

8. Sue Abela


Photo shows the 7th Masters Champion, 2015 – Mark Spiteri

Leave a comment